five minute friday: real. 2 Kings 6: 15-17

When Zoe was about a week old and still in NICU, I was reading through the book of 2 Kings, where the king of Aram is after Elisha the prophet. Elisha finds himself surrounded with Aram’s army. His servant gets upset seeing all the forces against them so Elisha answers, “Don’t be afraid. Those who are with us are more than those who are with them.” He then prays for God to open his eyes to the spiritual realm so he can see what is real. Then when the servant’s eyes are opened he sees the hills full of “horses and chariots of fire all around Elisha”

Since then, I’ve been thinking how surprised we would be if our eyes were opened to the spiritual realm, seeing just what protection God has put in place that we didn’t know about. … ‘For he will command his angels concerning you to guard you in all your ways’…..which I’m finding so comforting to think about. This is real. He does not leave us! He does not neglect to send protection!

It’s amazing. And this image just entered my mind of a chair next to Zoe’s cot and an angel sitting, watching guard, never leaving her there. I’m certain God sent this angel to watch over Zoe, to be there when I couldn’t be there. I wish our eyes could be opened to this and we could see what is real, yet we cannot see.

15 When the servant of the man of God got up and went out early the next morning, an army with horses and chariots had surrounded the city. “Oh no, my lord! What shall we do?” the servant asked.

16 “Don’t be afraid,” the prophet answered. “Those who are with us are more than those who are with them.”

17 And Elisha prayed, “Open his eyes, Lord, so that he may see.” Then the Lord opened the servant’s eyes, and he looked and saw the hills full of horses and chariots of fire all around Elisha.

4 thoughts on “five minute friday: real. 2 Kings 6: 15-17

  1. Loved reading your post. So few people are willing to speak of angels but I see them too. Have done since I was a child. I only recently began to be close to God, and to read the Bible, and when I came across Psalm 91 (on one of the first times I was called to open the Bible at random), I cried tears of joy at the beauty – and truth – of the words there (it was like He was trying to confirm to me that He is real, it was such a beautifully powerful moment). Thank you for your post, I loved it (I just finished reading ‘Skellig’ which discusses a similar scenario to yours – you might like it?!) {A FMF friend}

Leave a Reply

