reblog- four unthinkable conversations plus my comments

It has been a little while since I logged on to my Reader, but this article was at the top of it.

http://www.desiringgod.org/articles/four-unthinkable-conversations

I think one thing that strikes me, and I might have mentioned it before (I didn’t get this from this particular blog post, but I’ve read it a good number of times, although I haven’t looked for the stats or anything) is that for a lot of other people Zoe’s initial diagnosis and prognosis at 20 weeks would have been enough for them to abort her. And I did briefly consider that too, although looking back I wonder if I was actually serious or if I just thought about it because I was told to go away and think about it. I think I already knew what my answer would be.

It’s scary because I absolutely love this little girl, her smile, her little face, her bright blue eyes that light up, the way she wriggles and kicks so busily with such a serious look on her face, the way she interacts with Annika…I could go on and on…and I can’t imagine not having that because I’d decided to abort her at 22 weeks instead.

Zoe was on a LOT of support when she was born. It is sort of mind boggling to think that at 35-36 weeks she was induced and given all the support she needed- what must amount to millions of dollars of it by now- and lived, but she could so easily have been induced 12-13 weeks beforehand, not given any support and died. Same condition, she didn’t develop or get rid of any medical condition between 22-23 and 35-36 weeks. And all it came down to was one telephone conversation where I said I wanted to continue.

I won’t say it’s easy having a child with a serious chronic health condition. It’s downright difficult.  But I can overlook all that just for the sheer joy that this beautiful little baby brings. There are bad days and good days, like anyone I guess. Overall though it’s worth it. It’s so worth it.

I think about Zoe’s testimony sometimes. She’s not quite five months and just think about what God has done for her. I can’t wait to see what plans God has in store for her. They’re going to be huge. They already are huge! Zoe has already been such a blessing to many, myself not in any way the least. God has massive plans for this little munchkin and I’m excited for what’s to come still!

From the article:

“If you believe in the sovereignty of God in all things, aborting children is outrageous. Period. The God who intimately knits babies together (Psalm 139:13), including some who will live with a disability (Exodus 4:11; John 9:3), does so for his glory and for the good of his people. All the promises of God remain true for that child and that family. God is mighty and full of mercy in the gift of every child, and he equips us to love them no matter what.”

Amen to that.

Leave a Reply

