five minute friday: hold

I’ve recently (well, a few weeks ago now!) been directed to Five Minute Friday and, although I’ve had the best of intentions to join in, it’s taken me a while to actually sit down at the computer on a Friday.

It’s where a whole bunch of bloggers write for five minutes on a topic.

Let’s see how I go…

Each week they have a new topic to write on. This week’s topic is: Hold.

I’m sitting here with both my children. The almost two and a half year old is bouncing around on the couch, occasionally coming over to me with a ‘Mummy this’ or a ‘Mummy that’.  I put my arm around her and hold her for a second before she bounces off again to whatever the next distraction is. The 34-week-along one I hold in my tummy still.

I need to be held, too. With the looming induction and the unknowns that follow, I need to keep reminding myself that He who knows the future is holding me. And the two little ones that share the couch with me.

Earlier today I was reading Psalm 91. He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High will rest in the shadow of the Amighty…He will cover you with his feathers, and under his wings you will find refuge; his faithfulness will be your shield and rampart.

What beautiful promises we have from God that he will hold us when we need it, when we need to rest in him.

Well, I really didn’t realise how little I would get written in five minutes (to be fair, the stopwatch has been stopped about ten times due to phone calls, toddler toilet breaks and a few various other things)

 

IMG_3601

 

 

2 thoughts on “five minute friday: hold

  1. I’m your neighbor from FMF! I’m glad you decided to join up! I’m fairly new to it myself… I really love the community it provides. Helps you not feel so alone in your corner of the internet.

    Will be in prayer for your upcoming induction!

Leave a Reply

