there is a fountain

I recently found this song by Selah. Apparently it’s an old hymn, although it took me a while to realise that. (Not having grown up in church and then mainly having attended churches that play more…looking for the right word here…recent-ish music throughout the duration of my Christian walk, I’m not very up to date on many old hymns…if the word ‘up to date’ and ‘old hymns’ go together at all anyway!)

(On a completely unrelated note, I had a laugh just then thinking of the ladies I met in Big W a few years ago who were looking for the ‘latest’ Sherlock Holmes novel. Although I felt like a bit of a know-it-all doing it, I had to point out to them that Arthur Conan Doyle wrote most of them the better part of a century ago!)

Back to topic..I love, love the lyrics to this song. Aren’t they just beautiful??

There is a fountain filled with blood
Drawn from Emmanuel’s veins
And sinners plunged beneath that flood
Lose all their guilty stains

The dying thief rejoiced to see
That fountain in his day
And there may I, though vile as he
Wash all my sins away

Ere since by faith I saw the stream
Thy flowing wounds supply
Redeeming love has been my theme
And shall be till I die

According to Wikipedia, there are other verses too…Just as beautiful, although I haven’t heard them sung. I’m sure there are other versions on Youtube.

These are another two old hymns this band do that I’ve been listening to as well (sorry for the links not being neat and tidy, WordPress seems to be having an ‘off’ day and I almost lost my whole blog entry trying to insert a neat and tidy link before!)

Before the throne of God above

How deep the Father’s love for us

Leave a Reply

