isaiah 26: 4

You will keep in perfect peace him whose mind is steadfast, because he trusts in you. Trust in the LORD forever, for the LORD, the LORD, is the Rock eternal. Isaiah 26: 4

You know how sometimes there’s just a verse that you keep coming across all of a sudden? This has been the one over the past week. It’s appeared in the video series we’re doing at cell group, as well as the verse of the day in my Bible app on my phone, plus I’m sure there’s somewhere else it’s appeared that I can’t quite recall! I always think that when I start noticing a particular verse everywhere, it’s a sure sign that God is trying to get my attention with what he’s saying through that Scripture! So I’ve been thinking, meditating on it a bit over the course of the last few days.

I definitely don’t have perfect peace at the moment.  As much as I’d like to say I trust God with all the outcomes from this pregnancy (and I am definitely much more surrendered with all this than I was back in June!) My mind is still….All over the shop. This is nothing new for me really, I’ve always had an active imagination. Having something as big as this definitely Imagining all the scenarios with this baby I’ve been told about, and all the scenarios I haven’t been told about but have come up with myself. Each time the details get worse and worse. I imagine how all the other elements of my life are going to pan out in light of what’s happening with all this, and again, my mind can really run wild with this. I need to trust in God, make my mind steadfast on the things of God and believe, really believe that he has everything under control. It’s so much more easier said than done!

In the bible/ video series we’re doing in cell group at the moment, they comment underneath this verse that the only way to fix this is to completely fix our minds on God. Take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ – 2 Corinthians 10:5 – again something I need to work on. It carries on to say:

‘Bring your worries to him in prayer, then change the focus of your attention. Think about God. Lean into God, hold onto him, put your trust in him. When you do, he will give you peace of mind. And when you have peace of mind, then the logical, rational, problem solving part of your mind will be able to think clearly.’

It’s something that with God’s help, I am getting there on. It’s a huge habit to change and a huge change of direction, especially when it’s so easy to lapse back into a frame of mind that doesn’t focus on God and his promises.

Set your mind on things above, not on earthly things. Colossians 3: 2

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

