good blog post: finding strength in the strength of God

I read this article on finding strength in the strength of God by John Piper on the Desiring God blog today….how appropriately timed!

Basically he breaks the way we rely on God’s strength to help us into five steps:

admit you can do nothing

pray for God’s help for the task at hand

trust a particular promise of God’s help

act

thank God for the help received

He also says that most people have a tendency to skip the ‘trust’ step- definitely true with me!

From the article, ‘After we pray for God’s help, we should remind ourselves of a specific promise that God has made. And fix our minds on it. And put our faith in it. And say to God: “I believe you, help my unbelief. Increase my faith in this promise. I’m trusting you, Lord, here I go.” Then act.’

He gives some examples of promises we can cling to- Isaiah 41: 10 was one that stood out to me at this moment:

Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

It speaks perfectly into what I need from Him at this moment…

There are so many more promises, too, that I could hold on to in this situation…I’m going to have to compile a list, like in the article, to have them at hand for when I need them.

Leave a Reply

