ephesians 2: 19-22 (cornerstone)

While looking for something on the Internet….I was reminded of this song today.

My hope is built on nothing less

Than Jesus’ blood and righteousness

I dare not trust the sweetest frame

But wholly trust in Jesus’ name

Christ alone

Cornerstone

Weak made strong, in the Saviour’s love

Through the storm

He is Lord

Lord of all

When darkness seems to hide His face

I rest on His unchanging grace

In every high and stormy gale

My anchor holds within the veil

My anchor holds within the veil

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nZq9xTfHvgo

Ephesians 2: 19-22

Consequently, you are no longer foreigners and aliens, but fellow citizens with God’s people and members of God’s household, built on the foundation of the apostles and prophets, with Christ Jesus himself as the chief cornerstone. In him the whole building is joined together and rises to become a holy temple in the Lord. And in him you too are being built together to become a dwelling in which God lives by his Spirit.

Christ alone, cornerstone.  I am accepted by God and a member of God’s household, one of His children. So is baby, although it’s hard to believe when all I really know is the little kicks and movements I occasionally feel and when it seems like things couldn’t get much worse.

In him the whole building is joined together and rises to become a holy temple in the Lord. The whole building. Not just me, or people that seem to do useful things to contribute to society, or people that seem really strong in their faith or anything. The smallest and the weakest as well are part of this building that rises to become a holy temple in the Lord. Weak made strong, in the Saviour’s love.

And in him me, and baby, are being built together to become a dwelling in which God lives by his Spirit. That includes both of us. I struggle with what the point is of all this. I could probably hazard a few ‘Christian’ answers: to help me grow more Christ- like, teach me about God’s love, etc etc. At the moment trying to think of the answers isn’t really helping though. I just need comfort more than anything. When darkness seems to hide His face, I rest on his unchanging grace.

Baby is an important member of God’s household! Baby is just as valuable, precious and loved as the next member. All of us are needed for this wonderful household of God, built on the foundation of the apostles and prophets. Length of life, achievements, etc are not what matters. What matters is that baby is a child of God, precious, wanted and loved. Whether or not s/he lives 5 minutes, 100 years or does not take a breath on earth at all. It doesn’t matter. Jesus still died for this baby, just as much as for me or for anyone else. My hope is built on nothing less, than Jesus’ blood and righteousness.

I dare not trust the sweetest frame

But wholly trust in Jesus’ name.

Leave a Reply

